The Clothes Show 2015

So, I know it has been a while since I last posted. I have been very busy in the run up to Christmas, and I’ve been travelling in and out of London a fair bit too (posts to come).

Around two weeks ago I was lucky enough to go to The Clothes Show with my mum and sister. We used to go when I was still in school and as we got older, and busier, neglected to continue the tradition. However, this year, my sister was able to go as press, and took me and mum along for the ride. Shout out to Cosmopolitan. Now this year, I think we were all a bit reticent to get excited about going again. We were all a lot older, and didn’t have much shopping to get – we used to use it to buy Christmas shopping for friends etc. I was extremely surprised at how much of a great time I had. Obviously, we had a slightly different experience to usual, having access to areas and people we previously wouldn’t have had. But, nevertheless, I had forgotten how incredible the fashion show was. I have just recently been getting back into all things fashion, after my busy university schedule, and this only increased my excitement. That along with our mad dash to find some bargain shopping. Insider’s tip – everything gets further reductions on Tuesday, the last day of The Clothes Show. Whilst I think this is mostly a great spot for teenagers to go, it has been confirmed to me that it is definitely not exclusively for the younger girl group.

To begin with, we were taken to the press room, followed by a room full of goodies. Here I am testing out one of the options, and all of my freebies I came home with. Very exciting. My favourites are the Paul’s Boutique bag and ‘french toast’ pyjamas by MinkPink.

IMG_5589IMG_5818

We were then taken backstage where my sister interviewed Charlie XCX. Here we are messing around backstage where we saw Alice Levine, Joey Essex and, also, these sexy models.

IMG_5819clothes show 3

Then we had a little shopping time, where we bumped in MIC hottie Andy Jordan. We then sat with him in the VIP room (they got much better food!), whilst my sister interviewed MIC’s Jamie Laing on the neighbouring table. After a little more shopping, we then headed to the main event. Here, I’d like to say that most of these photos have no alterations. Most of the ones that do, only have a little sharpening to make the edges clearer. The worst photos here have actually undergone heavy filtering, and other touch-ups, but the original photos couldn’t be corrected entirely. Clearly, it was a good day of photography, or just a brilliant subject matter! The lesser quality photos were impeded by the movement or smoke provided by the incredible performance. It was certainly stunning in person, even if that couldn’t be captured in a couple of these pictures.

The show was split into different sections. ‘Earth’ depicted an African inspired collection. The strong looks were scattered with animal print, fur and tribal prints. Along with the whip/nae nae to add to the performance.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 presetIMG_6417FullSizeRender

Along with forecasting African influence as a trend, fishnets could be seen on the catwalk. This trend forecast was shown in both menswear and womenswear in the ‘Water’ collection. I’m sure by the time it reaches the high street, it will be a more wearable look.

Processed with VSCOcam with a5 presetIMG_5937

Futuristic, 60s inspired colour blocking was displayed. I have to say, I am a little bit in love with this. I love the neon bright colours, polka dots and shiny panelling. Sign me up right now. Wardrobe lust for the New Year is here.

IMG_6405clothes showIMG_6402

Sequins, glitter and all thinks sparkly were also showcased amongst the collections. This is potentially my favourite dress of the show. I love its modern structure. I also LOVE this coat but I’m not sure oversized, sparkly rucksacks with board shorts is going to catch on quite as much.

IMG_5951IMG_5944Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

There was a touch of cowboy-esque aesthetic on stage. Along with a nod to French influences with this beret.

Processed with VSCOcam with kk1 presetProcessed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Some other absolute favourites of mine were these Perspex ponchos and shiny blue leotards, and this extravagant, futuristic tulle dress.

perspex ponchoProcessed with VSCOcam with kk1 preset

This hyperbolic puffa jacket could be indicating a new trend.

IMG_5868

The ‘Red’ collection exhibited this beautiful sheer jumpsuit and absolutely incredible feather skirt. Flamenco dancers scattered the stage during this section, living up to the standards The Clothes Show has set for putting on a performance, not just a fashion show. Charlie XCX performed at the show, and even a Stormtrooper put in an appearance, showcasing some of his dance moves.

IMG_5885Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetIMG_6416IMG_6407

Here are just a couple of amazing moments which showcase the great production and showmanship of this event.

IMG_5622clothes show 2

I am in absolute awe of this photograph, I have left it untouched. Not only does it represent the performance, through dancing, put on by The Clothes Show, but the movement captured in the skirt is a true representation of its elegance on stage. One of my top moments from the show.

IMG_5832

And, finally, here is a, slightly blurred, photo of the main outfits from each of the collections shown at The Clothes Show 2015.

IMG_6410

I know this has been an extremely long post, but I hope you made it to the end! This was an extremely narrowed down selection of photos from the day and I couldn’t bring myself to narrow it down anymore. I cut out some pictures of the celebrities we saw and met, and the amazing time we had there as press because I wanted to showcase the clothing in the fashion show. I would highly recommend going, even if it is just to see the show because it really is so fantastic every time I have been. The discounted prices on shopping – mostly beauty buys now – is just an extra.

Leave a Reply

